Eleven of our ESRs participated in the Intensifying Biocatalytic Processes: from Enzyme and Material design to Industrial Application (IBPRO2022) held in the ZIF in Bielefeld (GE) from 28–30th of March, 2022.

The conference is part of the International CeBiTec Conference series, and was jointly organized by the H2020-MSCA-ITN INTERfaces team and the Industrial Organic Chemistry and Biotechnology Group from Bielefeld University. Oral talks and poster presentations from both academia and industry, as well as interesting podium discussions took place. The programme covered enzyme and material design, biotransformation in organic solvents, deep eutectic solvents, as well as multi-phase systems and flow biocatalysis ranging from academic to industrial experiences.

Here INTERfaces ESRs presented following posters regarding their latest achievements:

Nicolette Czarnievicz Rother (ESR3, CICbiomaGUNE, Spain): “Surface engineering of transaminases to tailor protein immobilization on microreactors”

Iulia-Ioana Rădoi (ESR4, University of Trieste, Italy): Advanced morphological characterization of His-tagged immobilized ω-transaminases by means of infrared microscopy”

Luisa Merz (ESR5, ViaZym, The Netherlands): “Exploring SpATA: Determining influences on the stability of the Silicibacter pomeroyi transaminase”

Antía Pintor (ESR6, EnginZyme, Sweden): “Immobilisation and application of amine transaminases for the valorisation of 5-hydroxymethylfurfural”

Nicoletta Cascelli (ESR7, University of Oviedo, Spain): “Design of high-throughput assay to identify furan-2,5-dicarbaldehyde and its application for screening POXA1B library”

Jakub F. Kornecki (ESR8, CASCAT GmBH, Germany): “Selective synthesis of 2,5-dihydromethyl furane (BHMF) catalyzed by self-sufficient immobilized multi-enzyme systems”

Kamela Myrtollari (ESR9, Henkel, Germany): “Production of thermally stable decarboxylases using ancestral sequence reconstruction“

Chiara Danielli (ESR11, ViaZym, The Netherlands): “Biomass-derived, renewable carriers for enzyme immobilization”

Karishma Shah (ESR12, acib GmbH, Austria): “Functional characterization of novel NADH oxidases from Herbaspirillum seropedicae

Philipp Petermeier (ESR13, SpinChem AB, Sweden): “Upscaled one-pot cascade for bio-based monomers”

Milica Milić (ESR14, SpinChem AB, Sweden): “Chemo-enzymatic synthesis of 2,5-furandicarboxylic acid in micro-aqueous media: a study of galactose oxidase stability”